RSS

Jendela Kampung

Man I thought for sure that it was April already but as it turns out, it was only my wishful thinking (since my wallet is in dire need of replenishing right after the Raya celebrations). I mostly had gone out to various bazaars during the Ramadhan month so here's a review of a place that I've been to way before that. 

I personally loved the kampung style menu of this eatery (located at the backside of the Garden City commercial building, right next to ZUS Coffee and Kopi Ping). The dishes that we've tried out which was their Nasi Goreng Bunga Kantan, Nasi Lemak, Kacang Panjang Sambal Belacan & Telur Dadar (including a helping of Ikan Lalap sans rice if I'm not mistaken) were all superbly taste. But the place seems to be packed with customers almost everytime we passed them by especially during the weekends & as being pointed out by several reviews from Google, their service was indeed very slow. I mean you could see that they're trying their best but someone (maybe the owner?) should coordinate the kitchen & outside servers for a more efficient service. Just my two cents of course. 

** Current status - Still in business (as of March 2026) 

















  • Digg
  • Del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • RSS

A&W Imago (KK FoodieVenture #267)

Ok I promise this will really be my last KK entry for this time around (unless I rechecked my phone and discover yet another eatery that I've totally forgotten about). I've actually been to another branch before but I didn't recall the food to be err.. not as good of quality as it did before. Although our Beef Coney and Chicken Coney combo were looking pretty good, but both sauces lacked tastes & my sausage was even slightly undercooked. But I do like their Curly Fries as it is not as overly salty as McD & their Onions Rings were okay at best (Burger King is still better in my opinion). Oh and by the way, they're located at the ground floor (outer side section) of Imago Shopping Mall, right next to Thong Bowl.

And I'm sorry (I rarely complained) but one staff was a bit unprofessional during our visit. I do understand that there were some customers before us that might have 'bising' about their late orders. And from what I can see they were understaffed & it was during peak hours so the situation was understandable & customers shouldn't blame them either. But this one particular  staff probably took it way too personally & blamed everyone (including us who'd just arrived & was about to order) & had very sternly warned us not to 'bising' if our orders came out late. I mean, me & hubby were okay with it but must you have this sour attitude towards EVERYONE? 














  • Digg
  • Del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • RSS

OldTown White Coffee KKIA (KK FoodieVenture #266)

I do noticed that the eateries within the Kota Kinabalu International Airport (KKIA) especially inside the departure area seems to be in a constant ever-changing mode. Take this well known kopitiam chain for example. I have only noticed them sometime last year & had only recently decided to try them out (and since their Tawau branch has been closed down permanently around the same time). My hubby wasn't in the mood for anything heavy so he ordered their Kaya & Butter Toast, while I went for their White Curry Ramen with Cheese. The soupy dish was actually quite nice, similar to an instant noodle that I've tried before (or maybe it is said noodles?). And although their menu wasn't as extensive as the ones in their actual kopitiam, they still have some simple yet satisfying dishes for you to try while waiting for your every delayed flight (I'm looking at you Firefly). 








  • Digg
  • Del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • RSS

Goojiburg (KK FoodieVenture #265)

My second to last KK entry this time around revolves around a burger joint that my hubby saw while scrolling his Tiktok. And of course as a burger enthusiast he insisted that we go to their shop located in the middle of Sinsuran Complex (yup, those old shop lots in front of Le Meridien KK). We'd ordered their Oong Bak Krapow Smash Burger & Rempah Rempuh burger and hubby was satisfied with his. Mine was yummy as well, since I discovered that it was actually a spin to the local dish Nasi Ayam Berempah. 

We also discovered that they're also selling gelatos (specifically named Phileo Gelato) inside the same premise and I did give their Sea Salt Coconut flavour a try. It wasn't too sweet & the texture was also smooth which was really refreshing.











  • Digg
  • Del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • RSS

CariMeee Kolombong (KK FoodieVenture #264)

Yup I know, we've been down this road before. But do bear with me guys since my hubby is a huge instant noodles fan and when he heard that Carimeee has opened another bigger, shinier branch at Light Industrial Centre, Jalan Tuaran, Kolombong area, we were there in a heartbeat. Needless to say, it has the same concept as their Plaza 333 branch but with nicer Kpop inspired decor. I mean, there's literally a huge picture of Big Bang's GDragon near to their exit. Nothing much to comment about their food (it is what it is) but I was puzzled however with their choice of location for their second branch. We were there at night and the place was so quiet (with most of the shops already closed) that we actually doubted that we were at the right area. Then again who am I to question that right? 



















  • Digg
  • Del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • RSS